Spirit readers get to pick the Fall Sports MVPs

PUNXSUTAWNEY — Following every sports season, Punxsutawney Area High School coaches and players decide which player is most valuable to their own teams.

Now, for the first-time ever, you, the public, have an opportunity to vote for The Punxsutawney Spirit's 2010 Fall Sports Male and Female Most Valuable Players.

Upon consideration from The Spirit's sports staff, two athletes have been chosen from each of the high school's nine fall varsity sports, providing voters a chance to pick from 10 girls from five sports and eight boys from four sports.

Each voter may select one male and one female from the options available as often as he or she would like, as long as the voter uses the ballot (at right) provided in The Spirit and delivers the ballot to P.O. Box 444, 510 Pine Street, Punxsutawney, PA. 15767.

The top vote-getters from each gender will win a plaque and recognition for being named the first-ever winners.

In addition, the first-ever Winter Sports and Spring Sports Male and Female Most Valuable Player votes will take place when those seasons conclude, as well.

The deadline for votes is at noon Monday, Dec. 6.

The candidates are:


Milea Schall, Senior

Schall won her second-straight individual district title before finishing 95th out of 282 finishers at states.

Alexis Young, Soph.

In her second varsity season, Young became the team's second-best runner, finishing second at districts.


Jordan McGee, Senior
Usually the team's No. 1 scorer this season, McGee carded a career-best nine-hole 46 at home Aug. 30.

Kaitlyn Nestel, Senior

One of the team leaders, Nestel also shot a season-best 46 at home — her nine-hole 46 came Sept. 21, leading the team to a victory.


Lauren McGarvey, Senior

McGarvey, a potent striker, led the team with 10 goals this season and finished with 36 goals in her varsity career.

Timi Shiock, Senior

Shiock completed her fourth year as the team's goalkeeper with a second-straight league All-Star honor.


Jenna Miller, Senior

Miller, the No. 1 or 2 singles player all year, also usually played on the No. 1 doubles team.

Lindsey Paulina, Senior

Paulina, the No. 1 or 2 singles player all year, also usually played on the No. 1 doubles team and was named the MVP by teammates.


Shawnna Crago, Senior

Crago, a powerful middle hitter who was a district All-Star, led the team in both kills and blocks.

Hannah Neal, Senior

Neal, the team's defensive specialist and four-year starter, won the district Player of the Year award and led the team in digs.


A.J. Meterko, Senior

Meterko, the team's best runner for at least two years now, reached states for the third-straight season after finishing second at districts.

Dane Baker, Junior

Baker reached states for the second-straight season after finishing fourth at districts.


Ian Weaver, Senior

Weaver, a team captain, led the team in tackles (91) and earned all-conference first-team recognition as an inside line- backer.

Logan Weaver, Junior

Weaver, who threw for 1,126 yards and 18 touchdowns, earned all-conference recognition as a safety and a quarterback.


David Roberts, Senior

One of the team's three seniors, Roberts was consistently one of the team's best scorers and shot an 87 at districts.

Ian Miller, Junior

The team's No. 1 player all season, Miller carded an 87 at districts and tallied an 82 at the Bradford tourney, which the team won.


Kody Young, Senior

Young, an All-Star this year, completed a four-year varsity career as forward whose overtime goal sent the team to the district final.

Tyler Presloid, Junior

Presloid was named the league MVP after breaking the single-season goal record.