The Spirit awards 2014 Teachers of the Year

On Monday, representatives of The Spirit visited the local schools to present this year’s Punxsutawney Spirit Teachers of the Year.

Pictured here is Emily Skamai (front, center), a teacher at Punxsutawney Area Middle School, being presented with the Middle School Teacher of the Year award, a gift certificate to Mary’s Place and balloons courtesy of Walmart by Spirit representatives Bridey Shawgo (to Skamai’s right), Tracy Smith (to Skamai’s right) and Zak Lantz (back, far left).

Skamai is also joined by members of her fourth-grade homeroom, PAMS Principal Richard Britten (back, second from left) and Vice Principal Dr. Michael Guidice (back, far right).

The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Dawn Meko, while the High School Teacher of the Year is Ryan Hayden.

For more pictures and complete stories, pick up Tuesday's edition of The Spirit.