Skip to main content

A pair of All-Stars for Punxsy BB programs

March 20, 2012

Punxsy's Taylor Newcome releases a shot over an A-C Valley defender Feb. 13 in Punxsutawney. Newcome and boys' senior point guard Daniel Triponey were each named to their respective District IX All-Star teams Monday. (Photo by Zak Lantz of The Punxsutawney Spirit)

PUNXSUTAWNEY — In a competitive District, as District IX is in basketball, making an All-District team is quite an honor, and Monday, a pair of Punxsy basketball players — senior Daniel Triponey on the boys' side and sophomore Taylor Newcome on the girls' end — received the honor when the D-IX 2012 All-Stars were announced.

Triponey, who led the Chucks to just their second D-IX title game since 1994 this season, was the lone Punxsy representative from a balanced squad.

He led the Chucks' offense as the point guard and led them in the scoring category, as well, where his ability to slice through defenders en route to the basket helped him average 13.3 points per game this season.

The boys' D-IX MVP was Brookville's Zane Hackett, who eclipsed the 1,000-point mark for his career during the PIAA State Playoffs — the lone representative from the Raiders on the boys' side.

Bradford's Forrest Works and Colton Holzwarth, DuBois' Tanner Gooden, Nate Liddle and Nate Avery, Elk County's Clayton Housler, and St. Marys' Jimmy Werner and Justin Quiggle rounded out the boys' District All-Stars.

Newcome, one of just two sophomores to make the girls' squad, was a strong leader on a young Lady Chucks' squad, leading Punxsy with 11.1 points per game.

Newcome was especially lethal from behind the arc, giving Punxsy a deep scoring threat who could also put up points in the paint.

Bradford, which finished the regular season undefeated at 22-0, had four representatives on the squad, including the MVP, junior guard Kaserra Owens. Ali Rinfrette, Emily Marshall and Alex Vinelli also made the team.

Brookville was represented by a pair of girls — junior Lanae Newsome and senior Emily Ferraro.

Elk County had two representatives with Lexi Meholic and Abbi Petrosky, and St. Marys' Adair Gennocro rounded out the squad.

DuBois' Casey Wilcox was also listed as an honorable mention.

View more articles in:
YOUNG TOWNSHIP — A Reynoldsville woman was killed in a one-vehicle accident that occurred at 4:55 p.m. on Tuesday on...
PUNXSUTAWNEY — For many, Christmas is a magical season of giving and receiving. However, for some, it is a season that...
PUNXSUTAWNEY — Another successful "Light Up A Child's Life" campaign wrapped on Friday at Miller Brothers Furniture in...
Thursday Night Football 12/11/14 Arizona (11-3) 12 @ St. Louis (6-8) 6
Friday night, the Route 36 Rivalry was alive and well, with two different Punxsy-Brookville...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes