Skip to main content

25 PAHS students inducted into National Honor Society

December 14, 2012

Tamera Anthony, junior; Emily Travis, junior; Tessa Spearing, junior; Sydney Dubensky, senior; Lauren Ball, senior; Lauren Giavedoni, junior; Elizabeth Depp-Hutchinson, junior; Danielle Mallory, junior; Haley Hartman, junior; Laura Chelgren, junior; (back) Darren Hack, assistant principal; Josh Conrad, teacher; John Gigliotti, junior; Sydney Weaver, senior; Levi Sikora, senior; Garrett Neal, senior; Jerod White, senior; and David London, PAHS principal.

PUNXSUTAWNEY — Thursday night, the National Honor Society inducted new members with 25 Punxsutawney Area High School students being recognized.

The program began at 7 p.m. with an introduction by High School Principal David London.

The public was then introduced to the National Honor Society advisors, who received a thank-you for all their help.

National Honor Society advisors include Dr. Keith Wolfe, superintendent; David London, PAHS principal; Darren Hack, assistant principal; and Russell Bishop and Josh Conrad, teachers.

London also thanked school School Board Vice President Francis Molinaro and board member Roberta Dinsmore, who came out to show their support.

The National Honor Society officers were introduced and are the following seniors: Elizabeth Keller, president; Taylor Phillips, vice president; Jaelene Burkett, secretary; Ashley Walls, treasurer; and Ty Zimmerman, historian.

Zimmerman read a brief statement on the history of the National Honor Society, which was established in 1921 with the purpose of recognizing students of high moral character.

Then, NHS had only 14 chapters; now, it has more than 20,000 chapters.

The four pillars of National Honor Society were explained by the officers, with top scholar Alexa Shaffer giving the explanation of "Scholarship."

Jaelene Burkett explained "Service;" Taylor Phillips explained "Leadership;" and Ashley Walls explained "Character."

With each explanation, a candle was lit.

The induction ceremony began with each inductee coming forward and lighting a candle on the table.

They were recognized for their academic achievements, school activities, volunteer work and plans for the future.

Each inductee was then given a pin to signify his or her role as an Honor Society Member.

After the recognition of new members, there was an administration of oath.

Shaffer performed "Canon in D" by Johann Pachelbel. London gave closing remarks.

Seniors inducted into the National Honor Society were: Lauren Ball, Alexander Bevak, Drew Cooper, Sydney Dubensky, Christopher Fairman, Sarah London, Alannah Malia, Garrett Neal, Trevor Peace, Levi Sikora, Austin Sabatucci, Katelynn Sallack, Alexa Shaffer, Sydney Weaver and Jerod White.

Juniors inducted into the National Honor Society were: Tamera
Anthony, Laura Chelgren, Elizabeth Depp-Hutchinson, Lauren Giavedoni, John Gigliotti, Haley Hartman, Emily Horner, Danielle Mallory, Tessa Spearing and Emily Travis.

Those who assisted with the program were Mike Fallara, Beverly Walls and Patti Fallara.

Members of the Punxsutawney Fire Department were called to Aldi in the Punxy Plaza Thursday afternoon to investigate a...
PUNXSUTAWNEY — There is a saying that each one of us has a purpose here on this earth, and even though one local man...
PUNXSUTAWNEY — Punxsutawney Borough Council, despite a controversial meeting that at one point called for a...
Sunday evening, March 15, Plan B of the State College Area Rollers (SCAR) traveled to Skate Station...
On Monday, the District IX Basketball League — which consists of Bradford Area, Brookville Area,...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes